A Firm Providing Knowledgeable Advocacy For Hit-And-Run Car Accident Victims
If you were injured in a hit-and-run accident in New York, The Law Office of Jeena R. Belil, PC, can assist you from the very instant the crash takes place. Since insurance claims resulting from these types of accidents fall under your own insurance policy, you need to know that there are conditions you must meet before a claim for injuries can be made and understanding time frames is extremely important.
Most people find insurance matters to be complex and confusing, but I spent many years doing legal work for insurance companies. I understand these matters inside and out, and I’m ready to put that knowledge and experience to work on your behalf.
Follow These Rules After A Hit-And-Run Crash
The following is a list of things you must do after a hit-and-run crash. These conditions are mandatory and must be followed whether you are in a car or are a pedestrian:
- You must report the crash to the police within 24 hours after the accident or as soon as reasonably possible – the emphasis is on reasonable. If your injuries prevented you from reporting, that is reasonable. If you felt you had to work after the crash and forgot to report, that is unreasonable.
- You must fill out a sworn intention to make a hit-and-run claim and send to your insurance company within 90 days after the crash occurs.
It is also important to note that in New York, the hit-and-run car must have actually made contact with the car you were in or with your body. If a car cut you off and somehow caused you injury before taking off (known as a “phantom vehicle”), no hit-and-run claim can be made.
Many times, the hit-and-run car will actually be at the scene before driving away. It’s always important to take pictures of the license plate of the car that hit you, if you are in a condition to do it. This will aid the police in tracking down the offending car and if they have insurance, you can bring a claim against their company. Since leaving the scene of an accident is a crime in New York, the driver can be prosecuted with your help.
Who Pays For A Hit-And-Run Accident?
In many cases, irresponsible drivers flee the scene because they were illegally driving without insurance. This means that even if you can later identify the driver who fled, you cannot count on their insurance to cover remaining costs that aren’t covered by your personal injury protection. The reassuring news is that by law, your own New York insurance policy must include coverage for accidents caused by uninsured or underinsured motorists (UM/UIM). If the driver cannot be identified or if the identified driver has no insurance, you can file a claim against your UM/UIM policy.
Just remember that even though you will be looking to your own insurance company for your hit-and-run claim, they will not be your friend. They will not provide you with the information you need in order to meet the conditions to qualify and to preserve your rights.
If you are a pedestrian who was hit by a driver who left the scene, and you don’t have your own insurance, you can still bring a claim against a New York organization known as the Motor Vehicle Accident Indemnification Corporation (MVAIC), which will cover you for your medical expenses and up to $25,000 of injury benefits. There are other conditions that must be met in order to bring a claim against MVAIC. It is important to contact a qualified personal injury lawyer quickly after you are injured to protect your rights.
Don’t Wait To Seek Legal Help – Contact Me Today
The Law Office of Jeena R. Belil, PC, is committed to assisting you with every aspect of your serious hit-and-run accident injury case. Delays can cause you to forfeit your rights, so please don’t wait to seek legal help. You can schedule a free initial consultation by contacting my firm online or by calling 631-990-3235. I serve clients on Long Island.